jump to navigation

January 24, 2008

Posted by introspectreangel in blogging, depression.
trackback

Yesterday I…

-straightened out an issue with the lienholder of my vehicle…my payments were 2 months behind due to the move and the 2 weeks spent without a job, but I think I’ve got it fixed now.

Today I…

-called the company that owns my student loans.  I’ve been dodging their calls for months because I haven’t been able to pay.  So I called and said, “Help?  I’m getting divorced and I have no money.” and they said, “Look at that, you qualify for an economic hardship deferment. And we can backdate it to take care of all the past due stuff, too.”

Suffice it to say, when I moved, I just packed my shit and MOVED.  I was so emotionally drained, I didn’t forward my mail, turn off my utilities, change over my car insurance/registration – ANYTHING.  And, well…it’s catching up with me.  It’s not all bad.  My former landlord rented the place again the next week, so the utility companies figured out I didn’t live there anymore and sent me refunds of my deposits, which were helpful during the crunch.  But I’m so tired of living like this.  Ignoring problems does not make them go away, and you’d think I would know that by now.

I keep wanting to call the contact at my new parish for Stephen Ministry, but I think I’m too hard a case.  If anyone knows of good experiences others have had with it, I would appreciate hearing them.

Comments»

1. terri c - January 25, 2008

Good for you, Angel, doing these first two hard things!!! I can’t help on the Stephen Ministry front, sorry, no experience there. But I’m proud of you for these steps. Keep on keeping on–prayers coming from Our House.

2. Wormwood's Doxy - January 28, 2008

I do the exact same thing, Angel—shove everything under the rug when I get overwhelmed.

Good for you for taking small steps. I can imagine that both of those calls were really difficult to make. I loathe talking to people when I owe them money!

I will pray for you and Boy-O—that you can keep taking the small steps to wellness, and that the two of you can find the love, help, and support you need to make it through this rough time.

Oh, and apropos of your post before this one—I SERIOUSLY doubt anyone at church cares about your marital status (says the voice of experience). Since over half the population is divorced, you are hardly alone. I can’t think of a single person I know who has not been touched by divorce in some way…so I’d cross that off your list of things to worry about.

Pax,
Doxy

3. Mrs. M - January 29, 2008

(((angel)))

I’m glad it’s untangling a bit.

Be gentle with yourself. I think it’s OK to call about a Stephen minister, I really do.

4. terri c - February 14, 2008

Angel–how are you? I’m concerned about you.


Leave a Reply

